Do you know how hard it is to wind surf at 240lb?

Here’s another lie I tell myself… “I don’t want to do outdoor activities because I don’t enjoy them.”

Every summer my parents organize a family weekend trip.  We all stay in a cabin and spend the weekend doing outdoor stuff.  This past year we went windsurfing.  Whenever the wind picked up I fell almost immediately while other people sailed across a relatively calm man made pond.

I knew it had to do with the fact that 240lb’s is difficult to balance and my core wasn’t strong enough to handle the extra weight.  I convinced myself that it was because they gave me a board that was too small. (it actually was smaller than the board they later told me was recommended for me, but it really wasn’t that much smaller)  So once again, a lesson right in front of me and I didn’t even notice.

I tried snowboarding and was so sore afterwords I never tried it again.  And my excuse was that when I go up to the mountain I want to relax, not work, so I was going to stick with skiing.

I used to go hiking with my dad and I loved it.  But it was hard work.  And crappy food saps your energy.  I’ve been telling myself for years that I don’t want to go hiking because It’s not relaxing.  The truth is I don’t want to do it because I was so overweight it would have been miserable.

I used to play basketball.  I was really bad at it but I enjoyed it.  My Freshman year in college I had a severe ankle injury, and I’ve been telling myself ever since that I don’t play anymore because I don’t want to re-injure the ankle.  Here’s the problem with that lie… I PLAYED REGULARLY FOR THE NEXT 4 YEARS OF COLLEGE WITHOUT SO MUCH AS TWISTING IT.  I’d actually convinced myself that the following 4 years of playing without injury gave no indication that I could play today.  I just knew that basketball is hard.  How’s that for lying to yourself?

I could go on and on.  Swimming.  Rock climbing (looks really cool and I’m scared I can’t handle it).

So now the whole world knows that I want to do those things.  I may not have enough free time or money to do all of them regularly, but I’m sure not going to pass up on the opportunity because I “don’t want to do it.”  It may take time to get in the shape I need to be in to do those things, but now I know that I don’t have to say no anymore if I’m willing to do the work.

As many times as someone has said the following sentence to me, I’m sure everyone reading this post has either heard it, or said it to someone themselves:  “Trust me, you just have to try jogging/hiking/swimming/yoga/insert-activity-here for a little while and push through for a few weeks and before you know it you’ll look forward to it and it will get easier and easier.” And yet I never listened.  My excuse for that was “I tried and it just hasn’t worked for me.”  That loosely translates in to “I gave up because I’m more overweight than I realize and it was way harder than I thought it should be, and all of this is caused by the food I put in my body.”  I’m glad I learned how to listen to what I was actually saying.

Leave a Reply

