I’m in the 2nd best shape of my life, and I’m going for best

This will be my last post for at least a couple of days.  I write these posts at night which has been costing me sleep (which for some reason I don’t miss as much as I would have six weeks ago).  This will be a long weekend of driving for softball.  I’ll post again, but probably not for a week or so, unless something hits me.

Today I had my body fat checked.  It was 22%, just inside the “fair” zone.  When I was 255 I was at 31%.  That means I’ve lost  28 lb’s of fat and 1 lb of muscle.  It blew my mind.  The most useless, harmful 11% of my body just gone.

Today was supposed to be a light workout and a cheat day with food, so Keri and I went out to dinner.  A 400 calorie sandwich and half a side of fries later I’d turned my “cheat” in to a reasonable meal.  Then I went to the gym and ran on the treadmill.

But here’s the crazy thing…

The longest I’d run in the last 15 years was a mile, and I did that last week.  It took me about 10 minutes.  So I wanted to add another quarter mile, Complete the first mile at a faster pace, and run for 2 minutes more.  Partially because the course I ran outside isn’t flat and partially because it just seemed like a reasonable increase.  I finished the mile in under 9 minutes, ran another quarter mile on top of it, and ran for a total of around 11-12 minutes.  Then I got off the treadmill because I had achieved my goal.

But as I walked away, I realized I had more in me.  I didn’t want to stop.  So I went back, increased the speed and went another 3/4 mile.

To my knowledge I’ve never run 2 miles without stopping for more than a minute.

In high school I used to run stadium stairs and play basketball in before school. I rode my bike everywhere.  I think that was probably the best shape I’ve ever been in.  This is a close 2nd.

So I’ll write from time to time, as milestones occur or I have more eye opening experiences.  But right now I’m going to get some rest. Lots to do this weekend.

Leave a Reply

